Westmoreland County Historical Society


Welcome to our website! Whether Westmoreland County is your home, your ancestors' home, or a place you would like to visit, let the Star guide you. 

Star of the West was a title given to Westmoreland County by 18th century German pioneers who regarded it as a "stella" or star as they traveled from eastern Pennsylvania through this region and toward western territories. The 5-pointed star also represents the five counties that were carved from Westmoreland's original boundaries - Allegheny, Fayette, Greene, Washington, and Westmoreland. This Star reflects our mission to provide a guide through history to a greater understanding of the present and a clearer path to the future.

Frontier Court Flyer front.png

Frontier Court Reenactments



6/3/1918      Seton Hill authorized to confer degrees.

6/6/1812      Greensburg Riflemen volunteered for service in War of 1812  

6/15/1797    Laughlintown laid out by Robert Laughlin as “East Liberty”

6/26/1972    “Old Hanna’s Town” listed as a National Historic Site.  Today the site is called Historic Hanna's Town. 

6/28/1902      Monessen Daily Independent first published. 

6/29/1940      Pennsylvania Turnpike completed.


 See Today in History for more dates of particular interest to Westmoreland County.