Westmoreland County Historical Society

Arthur St. Clair Preservation Award

his award is presented annually to those individuals, organizations, businesses or educational institutions that have made a significant and sustainable contribution to the preservation of our historic places, documents, records or stories, and by doing so, are keeping alive Westmoreland County's rich history and heritage for future generations. 

This award is named in honor of Arthur St. Clair, an important figure in the founding of Westmoreland County. 

When the cause of the American Revolution beckoned, Arthur St. Clair answered that call and rose to the rank of Major General in the Continental Army. After the war he served as the President of Congress under the Articles of Confederation and as the first governor of the Northwest Territory. 

Nomination forms are available now. Click here to download a copy of the form.